T-minus 2h17m…

22 12 2009

Blog, it’s so nice to have you. For years I dreamed of creating a special place for journaling that wasn’t my myspace blog. (I still have to figure out what to do with that. Copying and pasting years’ worth of blog entries seems neither fun nor efficient.) Nobody is even looking at you. And unlike previous blog situations, this pleases me greatly.

Not that I don’t intend for you to be read someday. By me, naturally, but others, too. My favorite blogs are the ones I stumble on 2 years too late, whose archives I can devour like the pages of a book. Good blogs read like memoirs.

Not that I’m making any claims for you to be a “good blog.” That’s the whole point. No pressure to pick a coherent topic, no research, no endless afternoons of html links and images and video embedding, no pandering to an audience. Ultimately, these are the things that made me recoil from the more popular themed blogs to which I contributed.

I guess it’s a good thing I gave up that dream of being a writer, since it is apparently professionalism in any form that turns me off to writing…so what else is new, I guess.

Anyway, expectations of professionalism prevent me from just logging in and vomiting words all over a page, which, as I’m sure you can tell by this point in the exercise, is probably my most favorite thing about having a blog in the first place…

I’ll stop now. T-minus 1h47m…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

