Superpowers and the coming of spring.

1 03 2010

Hiya, blog. Apologies for the spotty coverage…and that the times I feel most pressed to post are when I’m down. That’s always been how it is, my blog tends to reflect a much bleaker existence than the one I live day-to-day. Good times aren’t quite as easy to articulate.

And to be fair, this winter has been a bit more of a minor note than those past…or perhaps that is just an illusion sponsored by the fact that life has been pretty damn good of late, for all my whining.

The snow played its part in bringing everybody down. Days on end without sunshine are stressful enough for me, and compromised driving conditions added the extra dimension of work stress which is only ever a factor in a will-or-won’t-I-get-there kind of way. And my new-found impatience with the job is an enduring truth from the last entry. Now that I know I’m out of here in the fall it’s getting very, very hard to continue to feel indifferent about showing up day in and day out.

Shh. I am hatching a plan.

In the meantime, I have single-handedly prevented the accumulation of snow and coerced the sun to return with the sheer force of my will and the support of a happy sunny-sunny boy.

That’s right, I have superpowers. Next up: I usher in the spring. (Check the forecast, bitches, it’s working.)

Keiko is coming and, with her, a much needed vacation. My rent is going down. I got a big tax refund and a bonus from work, so in the space of a couple of weeks I seem to have amassed a grand in savings. I’ve been out to the bars, met new people. I’m down a pant size. My rents got me a surprise iPhone. Obviously I’m being reminded of the balance in the universe. Sometimes you just can’t help but feel unlucky, no matter how much you tell yourself it’s not true. But if you focus on the positive, on appreciating all you have, the world seems to reward your strength.

NOT, I’ll not, carrion comfort, Despair, not feast on thee;
Not untwist—slack they may be—these last strands of man
In me ór, most weary, cry I can no more. I can;
Can something, hope, wish day come, not choose not to be.

Oh, Mr. Hopkins, your verse is so sexy.

So for right now my agenda is simply to wait out these weeks leading up to vacation, and enjoy my rewards. What more can I do? My life will change very drastically in the coming months – you might, if you were being trite, say I’m about to embark on a new chapter in my life.

But this chapter has been warm and exhilarating, full of light and adventure and love, and it deserves a hell of a conclusion.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

